State Incentives and Legislation Regarding Energy Efficiency

Alaska
Citation: Alaska Statutes 45.89.010 et seq.
Summary: Establishes the residential energy conservation fund within the Department of Commerce and Economic Development. Loans and grants may be used to purchase, construct, and install an energy conservation improvement in residential buildings. Money in the fund may be used by the legislature to cover administrative costs. 

Loans may not exceed $5,000 or the estimated energy cost savings of the proposed project- whichever is less. Recipients must repay the loan within 10 years. 

Arizona

Revolving Energy Loan Program (RELA)

Summary:  This state-wide program provides loans for up to 75% of the costs for selected energy efficiency and renewable energy activities and demonstration projects, at 3% - 7% interest.  The program is administered by the Arizona Department of Commerce Energy Office.

Arkansas
Citation: Arkansas Code 14-167-201
Summary: Makes bonds available for energy facilities which will reduce energy consumption or make use of renewable energy resources in residential, commercial, industrial, and agricultural application. Municipalities or counties may issue bonds to help provide financing for facilities which will reduce energy consumption. There may be successive bond issues for the purpose of financing the same energy project. These bonds are exempt from all state, county, municipal, and school district taxes.

California
Citation:  AB 1890, and reconfirmed in recent legislation.

Express Efficiency Program

Summary:  The Express Efficiency Program is an Energy Efficiency Public Goods Charge (PGC) Program.  Express provides cash rebates to small and medium sized business customers who invest in efficient equipment in areas including but not limited to lighting, refrigeration, and air conditioning systems. This program is offered by utilities statewide and maintains consistency for product requirements and rebate levels.  

Citation:  SB 5X and other recent energy legislation

Rebates Database

Summary:  Energy efficiency and renewable energy rebates that were announced by Governor Gray Davis in his State of the State speech (1/8/01) are captured on an on-line database as they are too detailed and numerous to list.  Go to: http://www.consumerenergycenter.org/.

Citation:  AB 970, SB 5X

Cool Savings with Cool Roofs

Summary:  Cool Savings with Cool roofs has over $21 million in cash incentives available to nonresidential customers who want to lower their electricity use an average of 20% and increase the building’s comfort by installing cool (reflective) roofing materials and roof insulation.  Roof with R-5 (or less) insulation qualify for extra $0.05/sf when insulation is added in conjunction with a Cool Roof.  This is a state-wide program for non-residential buildings.

Citation:  AB 970, SB 5X

Solar Shade Screen Rebates

Summary:  The Solar Shade Screen program has $1.5 million in cash refunds available to customers who want to lower their electricity use and increase their home or building’s comfort by retrofitting existing windows with solar screens.  Eligible customers can receive a refund of $1 per square foot for installed screens on all south, west and east facing windows, skylights and glass doors. This is a state-wide program available to all California consumers for either residential or non-residential buildings.

Citation:  SB 5X

Cash for Kilowatts 

Summary:  Cash for Kilowatts is a $20 million incentive program aimed at owners or managers of commercial buildings to reduce electricity load during peak demand times. Systems are installed that raise thermostat settings and dim lights when either the price of electricity is high, or when the utility or Independent System Operator calls for load reduction for grid reliability.  All commercial or industrial building owners or property managers with a total electricity load of 50 kilowatts (small and medium commercial) and 200 kilowatts (medium & large commercial) may be eligible for grants.

Citation:  SB 5X

Bring Me A Watt 

Summary:  The Bring Me A Watt - Innovative Program has $8.5 million in funds available to tap the creativity of California’s private market. A broad range of innovative peak demand reduction projects (that are not funded by other programs) may receive grant or contract monies to help Californians reduce electricity use during peak times. An Innovative project could also generate electricity using a waste recovery method.  Eligible projects can receive up to $250 per kilowatt (kW) saved for this summer's peak demand, plus a bonus for early completion before September 30, 2001. The maximum grant amount is $100,000.

Connecticut
Citation: Connecticut General Statutes 8-37kk
Summary: Requires the Department of Economic and Community Development and the Connecticut Housing Finance Authority to give preference to loans for energy efficient projects in all of its grant and loan programs.

Citation: Connecticut General Statutes 8-44a
Summary: Requires the commissioner of housing to establish a program of rehabilitation and major repair, including any repair, replacement or installation as may be necessary to keep residences in sound, habitable and energy-efficient condition. This program applies to existing rental housing projects developed with state financial assistance. After approval by the commissioner, the state may provide assistance in the form of a grant-in-aid, loan, or combination thereof, to support construction or repair. In order to support the fund, the state bond commission has the power to issue bonds in one or more series, not to exceed $42 million in all.

Citation: Connecticut General Statutes 8-44a 32-315, et seq. 

Summary: This program allows the Commissioner of Economic and Community Development to establish an Energy Conservation Revolving Loan Account. This account will be used to make and guarantee loans or deferred loans to state residents for the purchase and installation of insulation, energy conservation materials, new furnaces and boilers, and similar equipment. Purchases must fit within guidelines created by the Office of Policy and Management. In order to qualify, applicants must prove that their income does not exceed 150% of the median area income by household size. In the case of residential structures containing fewer than 4 dwelling units , loans amount to at least $400 and at most $15,000 per structure. For buildings with more than 4 units, loans are $2,000 per unit- with a maximum loan of $60,000. Interest rates will reflect the recipient's income.

Loan repayments are paid to the State Treasurer for deposit back into the loan account. Interest on the loans is paid to the general fund. The State Bond Commission will authorize the issuance of bonds up to $23,700, and the proceeds of their sale will be deposited in the Energy Conservation Loan Fund. Each electric and gas company with at least 75,000 customers must participate in the implementation of this program, acting as loan guarantors, among other activities.

Florida

Citation:  Florida Statutes 2000. Title XXXII, Chapter 489 Contracting, Section 489.145 Energy Efficiency Contracting
Summary:  The "Guaranteed Energy Performance Savings Contracting Act” expanded the definition of “energy conservation measures” in the existing statute to include:  training programs, deployment of renewable energy systems, water conservation devices, energy storage systems, generating technologies, and repair, replacement, or upgrade of existing equipment.  The Act establishes a set of financial policies designed to encourage reinvestment of savings realized through deployment of energy efficiency technologies in additional conservation measures.
Hawaii

Citation: Hawaii Revised Statutes 235-12

Hawaii Energy Conservation Income Tax Credits 

Summary:  Provides a tax credit for the purchase of heat pumps and ice storage systems. Tax credits for heat pumps are as follows: Residential tax credit of 20% or $400, whichever is less; multi-unit residential building tax credit of 20% or $200; hotels, commercial, and industrial facilities credit of 20%, no dollar limit.  Tax credits for ice storage systems cannot exceed 50% of the total cost of the system and can only apply to the costs of purchase, accessories and installation.  Ice storage systems store ice or chilled fluids for the purpose of shifting energy consumption to off-peak periods.

Idaho

Low Interest Energy Conservation Loans 

Summary:  This Idaho Department of Water Resources state-wide program provides low-interest loans to help pay for energy conservation improvements.  The loans are available for the following sectors:  Residential, commercial, agricultural, governmental, schools, hospitals, and health care facilities.  Depending on the sector, loans can be up to $100K at 4% interest for 5 years.

Illinois 

Citation: Illinois Compiled Statutes 30: 710/2-1 et seq. 

Summary: Requires the Department of Commerce and Community Affairs to administer financial assistance for energy efficiency in the form of interest subsidies or other forms to individuals and small businesses in rural areas served by rural electric cooperatives. Some of the improvements covered are insulation, caulking, weather stripping, storm doors or storm windows, repairing or replacing broken windows or doors, cleaning and minor repairs of heating systems, and installation of set-back thermostats, as well as geothermal recycling and reuse of waste heat or energy.

The financial assistance for individuals shall not exceed $2,000 and may be extended only to individuals whose household gross income does not exceed 150% of the area median. 

Emerging Legislation

Citation:  HB 606

Summary:  Passed both the Illinois House and Senate and will likely be signed by the Governor.  This bill creates the Energy Efficiency Revolving loan fund that will provide low interest loans through a premium administered by the Illinois Department of Commerce and Community Affairs (DCCA)

Indiana  

Citation: Indiana Code 6-3-2-5  

Summary: Provides an individual adjusted gross income tax deduction for purchase or investment in energy efficiency. Purchases covered in this deduction include installation of new, but not replacement, insulation, weatherstripping, double pane windows, storm doors, or storm windows. The deduction may be taken for the amount of the cost (up to a maximum of $1,000). The deduction applies only if the residence was constructed at least three years before the taxable year for which the deduction is claimed. To obtain this deduction, the taxpayer must file with the department proof of his costs for the installation and a list of the persons or corporations who supplied labor or materials for the installation.

The Industrial Energy Efficiency Fund

Summary: This is a zero-interest loan program geared to help Indiana manufacturer increase the energy efficiency of their manufacturing process.  The fund is used to replace or convert existing equipment, or to purchase new equipment as part of a process/plant expansion which will lower energy use.  Companies can receive as much as $250,000.

Industrial Energy Efficiency Audit Grant

Summary:  The Energy Policy Division will award manufacturers funds of up to $5,000 to help defray the cost of an energy audit performed on their facility.  The energy audit will thoroughly examine process equipment, compressed air, lighting, heating and cooling systems, and other items related to the building and manufacturing process.

Public Facilities Energy Efficiency Program

Summary:  This program provides loans from the Indiana Efficiency Loan Fund to help school corporations, political subdivisions and public libraries identify and/or implement energy efficiency projects.  Loans are available for up to $100,000 with zero-percent interest, and do not require matching funds.  

Louisiana 

Home Energy Rebate Option ( HERO)

Summary:  Operated by the state energy office.  Began in 1999 with a pool of $7,000,000.  Any business or residence is eligible for a $200 rebate for an energy audit performed by a state certified energy rater.  If recommended measures are implemented, a 20% rebate of the estimated annual energy savings is reimbursed by the state, up to a maximum of $2,000.  About $300,000 has been expended to date. 

Maine

Citation: Maine Revised Statutes 13063-B.6  

Summary: Allows the Director of the Office of Business Development to adopt rules to arrange financing for energy conservation improvements for residential customers if the Residential Conservation Service, as established by the federal National Energy Conservation Policy Act, is repealed or amended.

Maryland

Citation:  (House Bill 20, State Bill 670)

Maryland Clean Energy Incentive Act 
Summary:  In May 2000, Governor Parris Glendening signed into law the Maryland Clean Energy Incentive Act, a comprehensive package of tax incentives of energy efficiency and renewable energy, which went into effect on July 1, 2000.  Individuals as well as businesses within the state will be eligible for new incentives for purchases and investments in clean energy technologies and consumer products, including: energy efficient clothes washers, refrigerators, and room air conditioners; innovative new hybrid electric vehicles; advanced heating and cooling equipment; fuel cells for buildings; and solar energy equipment.  Incentives include a suspension of the state's 5% sales tax on certain energy-saving appliances.  Most of the incentives will be available for purchases made between July 1, 2000 and December 31, 2004. Production tax credits will run for 10 years.  The bill also provides income tax credits for the production and sale of electric power from renewable energy sources, including wind power and biomass.  Maryland legislators moved quickly on the bill with little debate and bipartisan support.   
Michigan

Home Energy Rating Rebates

Financial Incentives encourage homeowners to implement recommendations made in the improvement analysis report provided with a home energy rating.  If a homeowner implements one or more recommendations which increase the home energy rating by 2.0 or more points, the homeowner is eligible to receive a rebate to recover the costs incurred by getting the home energy rating, up to a maximum of $300.

Minnesota

Citation: Minnesota Statutes 119A.40 

Summary:  Requires oil overcharge money that is not otherwise appropriated by law or dedicated by court order to be appropriated to the commissioner for energy conservation projects that directly serve low-income Minnesotans.  This appropriation is available until spent. One half of this money will be used for projects that have been reviewed and recommended by the legislative commission on Minnesota resources. A work plan must be prepared for each proposed project for review by the commission. The commission must recommend specific projects to the legislature.

Citation:  S.F.3259

Summary:  Raises the building code standards on energy efficiency measures from the previous year.  Some buildings have more stringent rules on high-performance windows and mechanical ventilation.

Montana 

Citation: Montana Code 15-32-109 

Summary: Allows a resident individual taxpayer to take as a credit against his/ her tax liability a portion of his expense for a capital investment in a building for an energy conservation purpose. In the case of an expenditure for a residential building, the lesser of these two amounts will be credited: $150 or 5% of the expenditure. For a non-residential building, the lesser of these two amounts will be credited: $300; or 5% of the expenditure. The credit or the sum of the credits may not exceed the taxpayer's tax liability; and credits only apply to: capital investments made after January 1, 1975; persons and firms not primarily engaged in the provision of gas or electricity derived from fossil fuel extraction or conventional hydroelectric development; and a ceiling of $100,000 in tax savings per year to any one person or firm. The credit must be applied in the year the expenditure is incurred, as determined by the taxpayer's accounting method.

Nebraska 

Summary:  Low interest revolving loan fund.  Program began in 1990 with oil overcharge funds.  Operated by the state energy office, loans are made for a large range of projects which show energy savings.  Projects must meet standards for energy savings set up by state, in the past such things as new appliances, heating and cooling systems as well as irrigation equipment have qualified.  Interest ranges between 5-6%, 1700-2000 projects are financed each year costing approximately $10,000,000/year.   
New Mexico 

Citation:  13-1-139

Summary:  The cost and pricing data for commercial businesses to receive a contract from the state is not required when the contract awarded complies with aspects of the Public Buildings Energy Efficiency Act.

New York

Citation: New York State Chapter 63, Section 19

Summary: Provides an incentive package to developers who build environmentally sound commercial buildings and apartment buildings. Builders who meet energy goals and use environmentally preferable materials can claim up to $3.75 per square foot for interior work and $7.50 per square foot for exterior work against their state tax bill. Each building must be certified by a licensed architect or engineer, and must meet specific requirements for energy use. In new buildings, this means energy use cannot exceed 65 percent of use permitted under the New York State energy code; in rehabilitated buildings, energy use cannot exceed 75 percent. 

North Carolina

Citation: North Carolina General Statutes 122A-5.3

Summary: Requires the state Housing Finance Agency to approve and administer energy conservation loans for lower income citizens. These loans cover the purchase and installation of materials resulting in a significant decrease in energy consumption. Loans cannot exceed $1200 and no person or family shall be entitled to more than one loan guarantee. The funds will be supported by appropriations from the General Assembly.

Citation:  General Statutes of North Carolina Chapter 143, Article 36, Section 1, Part 3.
Summary: Session Law 2001-338 establishes a low interest loan program for energy conserving capital improvement projects within the state.  Revolving loans between 1% and 3% per annum, with administrative expenses no greater than 5% will be available to industrial or commercial entities, local governments, and nonprofits.  The loans will be administered through the State Energy Office, which will also serve as the lead agency for establishing applicable rules.
Ohio

Citation: Ohio Revised Code 4928.57 et seq.

Summary: Establishes an energy efficiency revolving loan fund for investment in various sectors including low-income and moderate-income housing. This project will be administered by the Director of Development and will provide loans at below market rates for energy conversion, solid waste energy conversion, or thermal efficiency improvements. This fund will receive support from the following sources: a temporary rider on retail electric service rates, revenues from loan repayments, and payments from municipal utilities. The fund's revenue target will not exceed more than $15 million in any year through 2005, and not more than $5 million in any year after 2005. The rider will expire after 10 years or until the loan fund, including interest, reaches $100 million- whichever is first.

Summary:  A revolving loan fund of $110,000,000 has been established for residential and small commercial businesses’ energy efficiency and renewable energy projects.

Citation:  ORC Section 5709.46

Summary:  A sales tax and property tax benefit for businesses who are determined by the Department of Development  to be improving their business system through the purchase of equipment to improve energy conversion, solid waste energy conversion or thermal efficiencies.  

Oklahoma  

Citation: Oklahoma Statutes 63-2901 et seq.  

Summary: Establishes the Energy Conservation Assistance Fund. This fund will provide energy conservation grants to low-income homeowners for insulation, weatherization and other methods of improving the energy efficiency of their principal residence. The Oklahoma Department of Commerce will operate the fund, and along with the Department of Human Services, will determine the eligibility requirements for receiving a grant. Anyone can contribute money to the fund. These contributions will be entitled to an income tax credit against state personal or corporate income tax liability of 50% of the amount contributed.

Summary:  Cost Benefit Analysis.  Allows state agencies not to be compelled to take the lowest bid if a full cost benefit analysis demonstrates a lower lifetime cost, looking at such things as maintenance, upkeep, utilities and efficiencies.

Oregon

Citation: Oregon Revised Statutes Title 29, sec. 316.116

Summary:  This state-wide tax credit program was originally geared to renewable resources for home energy needs but over the years has expanded to include tax credits for energy conservation.  The tax credit amount is based on energy savings and cost of the equipment.  Oregon residents can receive tax credits for the following conservation measures:  Advanced duct systems, duct sealing, highly efficient home appliances (clothes washers, dishwashers, refrigerators), efficient central air conditioning and water heating systems, heat recovery and energy recovery ventilation systems, testing and servicing heat pumps and central air conditioning systems, and wastewater heat recovery.  The credit equals 40 cents per kilowatt hour saved, or the equivalent for other fuel, not to exceed $1,000 each tax year.

Citation:  ORS 36@469.185 - 225

Business Energy Tax Credit "Betsy" 

Summary:  This program offers tax credits to businesses to encourage them to invest in energy conservation, renewable resources, recycling and alternative fuels.  Any Oregon business may qualify.  The tax credit is 35% of the cost of the investment and is taken over 5 yrs.  For conservation measures, the energy savings must pay back the cost of the investment in more than one and, in general, less than 15 yrs.  

Citation: Oregon Revised Statutes Title 36 sec. 469.715  

Summary: Provides low-interest loans for residential energy conservation. These loans apply to energy conservation measures, including weatherization, for residents using fuel oil or wood heating. Caulking, weatherstripping and other infiltration protection materials, ceiling, wall and crawlspace insulation, timed thermostats, heating ducts, hot water pipes, dehumidifiers, storm windows, and double-glazed windows are the main weatherization changes that are financed. The dwelling owner's own labor is not reimbursed. 

The Oregon Energy Office administers these loans, and requires an energy audit before awarding a loan. Also, the Energy Office may inspect finished projects to ensure that state funds were used properly. This incentive cannot be combined with other state incentives. Annual interest rates shall not exceed 6 1/2 % annually.

Small Scale Energy Loan Program (SELP)

Summary:  The SELP offers low interest loans for projects that save energy, use renewables, use recycled materials or use alternative fuels.  Individuals, businesses, schools, cities, counties, special districts, state and federal agencies, public corporations, cooperatives, tribes, and non-profits can apply.  Though there is no legal maximum loan, the largest single loan has been $16.8 million.  Loan terms can vary.

State Home Oil Weatherization Program  

Summary:  The State Home Oil Weatherization program (SHOW) offers homeowners incentives that include free energy audits, loans and cash rebates for weatherization and heating improvements.  In order to be eligible for this program, homeowners must heat their homes with oil.   This program has provided over $5.7 million in rebates and $11.5 million in loans.

Citation:  SB1149

Public Benefits Fund

Summary:  Oregon’s 1999 utility restructuring legislation included a 3% public benefits charge to be paid by all electricity users. The charge is expected to generate about $60 million per year over the next 10 years for energy conservation, renewable resources, market transformation, low income weatherization programs, and school energy programs. An additional $10 million was also authorized to assist low-income customers with their electric bill payments.  

Pennsylvania

Citation: Pennsylvania Statutes Ch. 6, Title 62, sec 3011 et seq.  

Summary: Establishes the Energy Conservation and Assistance Fund. Grants from this fund will supplement the Pennsylvania Supplemental Low-Income Weatherization Program and the Pennsylvania Supplemental Low-Income Energy Assistance Program. People with annual income at or below 150% of the federal poverty guidelines are eligible for a grant. The Weatherization program is administered by the Department of Community Affairs, and the Energy Assistance Program is administered by the Department of Public Welfare. This fund will receive its monies from the state's share of oil overcharge funds. 

Rhode Island

Citation: Rhode Island General Laws Sec. 44-38-1 et seq.

Summary: Establishes energy conservation grants for the elderly. An owner or renter of a residential dwelling, 65 or over and not required to file income tax returns, is eligible for an energy conservation grant. This grant can cover insulation, storm or thermal windows and doors, caulking, weatherstripping, timed thermostats, and furnace modifications to increase fuel efficiency. Grants may be used for 50% of any money expended for purchasing and installing energy conservation items. The grant cannot exceed $200.

To apply for a grant, the qualified resident must file an informational tax return with the division of taxation. The division of taxation will then reserve a certain amount of money, and within 60 days, the applicant must present a receipt for money spent on energy conservation measures to receive payment. 

South Carolina

Citation: South Carolina Code of Laws 12-36-2110(B)

Summary: Provides a cap on sales tax for energy efficiency in manufactured homes. Sales tax due on a manufactured home is capped at three hundred dollars if it meets energy efficiency levels. Purchases which qualify are storm or double pane glass windows, and insulated or storm doors. 

Texas

Citation:  Texas Public Utility Commission Substantive Rule §25.181)

Goal for Energy Efficiency

Summary:  The Energy Efficiency Goal is mandated by Texas Public Utility Regulatory Act §39.905, which requires that each utility acquire energy efficiency savings to the equivalent of at least 10% of its growth in demand. Utilities may acquire these savings by administering standard offer programs and/or targeted market transformation programs. The programs must result in a reduction in energy consumption and energy costs for the customer. All customers, from all customer classes, should have access to energy efficiency alternatives.
Citation:  SB 5, 77R, Section 386.202

Energy Efficiency Grant Program
Summary:  The Public Utility Commission of Texas is required to develop and administer an energy efficiency grant program using program templates that are consistent with the P.U.C. Substantive Rule §25.181, relating to the Energy Efficiency Goal. 
Electric utilities, electric cooperatives and municipally owned utilities are eligible for the energy efficiency grants. Programs must include retirement of materials and appliances that contribute to peak energy demand to ensure the reduction of energy demand, peak loads, and associated emissions of air contaminants.

Citation:  SB 5, 77R, Section 388.003

Building Energy Efficiency Standards 

Summary:  To achieve energy conservation in single‑family residential construction, the energy efficiency chapter of the International Residential Code, as it existed on May 1, 2001, is adopted as the energy code in this state for single‑family residential construction.

To achieve energy conservation in all other residential, commercial, and industrial construction, the International Energy Conservation Code as it existed on May 1, 2001, is adopted as the energy code for use in this state for all other residential, commercial, and industrial construction.

A municipality shall establish procedures: (1)  for the administration and enforcement of the codes; and (2)  to ensure that code‑certified inspectors shall perform inspections and enforce the code in the inspectors' jurisdictions.

A municipality or county may establish procedures to adopt local amendments to the International Energy Conservation Code and the energy efficiency chapter of the International Residential Code. Local amendments may not result in less stringent energy efficiency requirements in non-attainment areas and in affected counties than the energy efficiency chapter of the International Residential Code or International Energy Conservation Code.  Local amendments must comply with the National Appliance Energy Conservation Act of 1987 (42 U.S.C. Sections 6291‑6309), as amended
Citation:  SB 5, 77 R, Section 388.005

Energy Efficiency Programs In Certain Political Subdivisions
Summary: Each affected political subdivision shall implement all energy efficiency measures that meet the standards established for a contract for energy conservation measures under Section 302.004(b), Local Government Code (15 year payback), in order to reduce electricity consumption by the existing facilities of the political subdivision.

Each affected political subdivision shall establish a goal to reduce the electric consumption by the political subdivision by five percent each year for five years, beginning January 1, 2002.  A political subdivision that does not attain the goals must include in a report justification that the political subdivision has already implemented all available measures.

An affected political subdivision annually shall report to the State Energy Conservation Office, on forms provided by that office, regarding the political subdivision's efforts and progress under this section.  The State Energy Conservation Office shall provide assistance and information to political subdivisions to help the political subdivisions meet the goals set under this section.

The State Energy Conservation Office annually shall provide the Texas Natural Resource Commission with an evaluation of the effectiveness of state and political subdivision energy efficiency programs, including programs under this chapter.

West Virginia

Citation: West Virginia Code 31-18A-1 et seq.

Summary: Establishes the Energy Conservation Revolving Loan Fund for residents of low and moderate income, who own and occupy single family residential homes. To be eligible, applicants must prove their title to the house and must meet criteria of credit- worthiness. Energy-efficiency measures covered by the fund will include insulation, storm or thermal windows and doors, caulking, weatherstripping, heat pumps, and other materials. Loans may not exceed $2,000 per dwelling, and may not exceed the actual cost of materials and labor. Recipients must repay the loan within 3 years, at a rate of interest not exceeding 3%  (Please note:  This program has not yet been implemented in West Virginia because funding has not been provided by the State legislature).
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